Institutional Review Board

Dr. Frankie Harriss, Chair

Dr. Frankie Harriss is the Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness and Quality Assurance, Accreditation Liaison Officer (ALO) at College of Micronesia-FSM. Dr. Harriss graduated from San Diego State University with a degree in biological sciences, emphasis in marine biology; earned her masters of science from University of South Florida in botany; and her education doctorate in higher education from the University of Liverpool. Dr. Harriss has worked in tertiary education for twenty-two years, spending the first sixteen years as a biological sciences and marine science faculty member at institutions in the USA, Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI), and the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM). Dr. Harriss has lived and worked in Micronesia for the past thirteen years.

Engaged in leadership training and development, she has completed the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) John E. Rouche Future Leaders Institute, AACC High Performance Leadership Training, and the Higher Education Resource Services (HERS) leadership institute for women leaders in higher education. Her doctoral thesis focused on Transformational Leadership and Enhanced Employee Engagement: Relationship, Roles, Accreditation, and Capacity Building Implications.



Dr. Paul Dacanay, Secretary

Dr. Paul Dacanay graduated from the University of Santo Tomas in Manila, Philippines with a Bachelors Degree in Science majoring in Biology, and earned his Doctor in Medicine from Saint Louis University also in the Philippines. He had his residency training in Family and Community Medicine for three [3] years at Quezon City Medical Center. Dr. Dacanay has been a practicing physician for 12 years and 10 of those were in Pohnpei, Federated States of Micronesia. He joined the Pohnpei State Health Department as a Medical Officer and later on as the Medical Director of the Community Health Centers. When the College Of Micronesia-FSM developed the Public Health Training Program and Nursing program, Dr. Dacanay was asked to assist in the development of the curriculum and later on help deliver the courses. He eventually became the chair of the health Sciences Division, managing both the Public Health Training Program and the Nursing Program.

Dr. Dacanay is also involved with the Short-term Education Program for the Underrepresented Persons [STEP-UP] acting as the FSM Coordinator for the research program. Dr. Dacanay is also the Center Director for the Guam/Micronesia Area Health Education Program [AHEC] that provides training for Nursing and Public Health workforce in the Federated States of Micronesia.



Dr. Eliazer Johnson

Medical Officer

Chief, Division of Public Health

Pohnpei State Department of Health Services


Bernolina L. Hedson

RN-Midwife, Clinical Nurse Supervisor and Senior Midwifery, Pohnpei State Hospital

Bernolina L. Hedson, RN, is a nurse working at the Department of Health Services, Pohnpei State Hospital. As a nursing leaders, she has thirty-four years of experience and currently serves as the Clinical Nurse Supervisor and Senior Midwifery. She enjoys her work and sharing her passion to help other nurses and young nurses to grow through higher education in Nursing. Clinical Nurse Supervisor Hedson earned an Associate of Science in Nursing from the Community College of Micronesia (CCM) Nursing Program held in Pohnpei, and competed in the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas, Saipan. Clinical Nurse Supervisor Hedson holds a Certificate in Nursing Midwifery, and became the First Nurse Midwife at the Pohnpei State Hospital.

Additionally, she has earned many certificates of achievement including: Certificate of Achievement in the JICA/Japan Asian –Micronesia Nursing Management. Certificate of Achievement in the International Council of Nursing (ICN) and Leadership. Certificate of Achievement in the Implementing Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI) in the Pohnpei State Hospital and the FSM. Certificate of Achievement and follow up course on the Perinatal course. Certificate of Achievement in Perinatal training. Certificate in Nursing Midwifery at the Fiji Nursing and Nursing Midwifery.

Clinical Nurse Supervisor Hedson helped establish the Pohnpei, FSM cohort BSN program in collaboration with the University of Maine at Fort Kent, USA. She serves as a focal point and trainer on implementing the Steps in BFHI. She implemented the BABY FRIENDLY HOSPITAL INITIATIVE in Pohnpei, and received a plaque from the UNICEF and WHO recognizing this work. She has served as a member to the FSM National Nursing Board of Licensures, and is still active by serving as an Ex-officio member. Finally, she is an active nurse leader in the American Pacific Nurse Leaders Council.


Delihna Ehmes

Professor Delihna Ehmes is the chairperson for the Social Sciences Division at College of Micronesia-FSM (COM-FSM) and has been working with the college for 13 years. Professor Ehmes graduated from COM-FSM with an associate of arts degree from the health career opportunity program (HCOP); a bachelor of science in psychology from Missouri Southern State University; and earned her master of science from Capella University in general psychology. Her experience extends to teaching research courses within the Micronesian Studies program and area curriculum development and research through programs titled, "connecting the moanas"-Pacific history-2012 and Teaching Oceania (2016).


This website and all COM-FSM Internet based services are best viewed with Firefox 3.0 or better.
© Copyright 2020 College of Micronesia-FSM | Site Disclaimer
P. O. Box 159, Kolonia, Pohnpei, 96941 - (691) 320-2480
College of Micronesia-FSM is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges,
Western Association of Schools and Colleges, 428 J Street., Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95814, (415) 506-0234,
an institutional accrediting body recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation and the U.S. Department of Education.
Additional information about accreditation, including the filing of complaints against member institutions, can be found at: