COM-FSM Seal College of Micronesia-FSM
Federated States of Micronesia
Computing · Directory · Home · Jobs · Library · News
June 06, 2001 - Palikir, Pohnpei

Update from the President's Office - No. 186

June 6, 2001


To:       All Regents, Faculty, Staff, and Students

From:     President

Subject:  Update from the President's Office-No.186

The Graduating Class of 2001    The COM-FSM held its Thirty-Third Commencement Exercises on May 25, 2001 at 2:00 p.m. in the temporary gymnasium. A total of 81 received their degrees and certificates. From the National Campus are the following:

AS DEGREE IN ACCOUNTING: Rinda R. Carlos, Quintina Felemog, Jason Gaarad, Sarihda D. Henry, Arthur Alik Livae, Aaron B. Peter, Agnes Jocelyn Samo, and Rebecca W. Sigrah

AS DEGREE IN BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION: Cecil Chugrad, Turpin H. Edmond, Atarino Helieisar, Moses Jr. Hespak, Assu R. Jackson, Larry L. Joshua, Lipan Wilson Lipan, Joane Phillip Hespak, and Anita Maxwell Salik

AS DEGREE IN COMPUTER INFORMATION SYSTEM: Presley P. Charley, Engelbert B. Danis, Duane Donre, Richard Ezekiah, Ailina H. Ezekias, Betson Ifamilik, Forda F. Joe, Dakuma Lucios, Aden Suwel, and Emyrose Welle

AA DEGREE IN LIBERAL ARTS: Grace A. Amaraich, McEnroe Ardos, Paul Cantero, Wayne Diopolos, Franny L. Fritz, Anstain M. Ioanis, Rosetina Jonathan, Frank Linge, Maxon Loyola, Raynold R. Pretrick, Jansen Santos, Noelle K. Soumwei, Joylynn Wichep, and Rudy R. Yaluslmar

AA DEGREE IN LIBERAL ARTS/EDUCATION: Nona S. O'Steen, Moravia K. Santer, and Mitaro I. Simina

AA DEGREE IN LIBERAL ARTS/HCOP: Daphne C. Anson, Loveleen S. James, Natalia K. Peter, Silverina Remikio Pretrick, Eleanor Samuel, and Nicholas Victor

AS DEGREE IN MARINE SCIENCE: Adino P. Ehmes, Jack Francis, John Gelag, Alik B. Palik, Cassiano Talogulgar, and Usohrlohng (Elias Jr.) Thomas


THIRD YEAR CERTIFICATE OF ACHIEVEMENT IN ELEMENTARY TEACHER EDUCATION: Anchelina Fupul, Ilden W. Ionais, Moses Malone Jano, Jennifer Kalistus, Kuliano Raymond, and Abraham Rayphand

UNIVERSITY OF GUAM BA DEGREE IN EDUCATION: Jayleen Kokis, Jolden Lihpai, Benrita Martin, Degakwihda Peter, LJ Rayphand, Salvador Salvador, and Tommy D. Tom

From the Pohnpei Campus are the following:

ASSOCIATION OF SCIENCE DEGREE IN HOTEL AND RESTAURANT MANAGEMENT: Kermen Alten, Merleen Augustine, YD David, Notwe George, Merleen Pelep, and Verna Younstrom



The honor graduates are: McEnroe Ardos, Anstain Ioanis, Loveleen James, Silverina R. Pretrick, Abraham Rayphand, and Jansen Santos. Silverina R. Pretrick was the valedictorian and also the recipient of the Timothy Jerry Scholarship Award. Abraham Rayphan was the recipient of the Student Leadership Award. Congratulations for a job well done.

Social Science Associate Professor, Ms. Mariana Ben-Dereas, received the Faculty of the Year Award. Congratulations!

Special appreciation is expressed to members of the Student Services Committee for all their dedication and hard work to ensuring the success of the Thirty-Third Commencement Exercises. Members are as follows: Program Committee: Lore Nena, Patterson Shed; Set-up Committee: Patricio Ramirez and staff, Nelsiro George and Maintenance staff; Decoration Committee: Benina Ilon, Nancy Simor, Chu Chok Chuuk Association, FAO staff, OAR staff, Faculty's Supporting staff, LRC staff; Rehearsal Committee: Wilson Kalio, Henry Wilson, and Luciano Mathias; Invitation/Ushers: Morehna Retin-Santos and Arbel Ben. A big thank you to the Security Services staff, Jim Alexander and Cafeteria staff, Bastora Raymond, and CCM/COM-FSM Alumni for their part in making the Spring 2001 Graduation Ceremony a success.

And finally, our gratitude is extended to Dr. David Wolf, Executive Director of ACCJC for being our keynote speaker for the Thirty-Third Commencement Exercises. We were honored with your presence.

COM-FSM Board of Regents Meeting -    The College of Micronesia-FSM Board of Regents held a regular meeting from May 21-25, 2001. Please see the attached "Actions and Directives".

Executive Director of ACCJC, Dr. David Wolf visited COM-FSM -   Dr. David Wolf, Executive Director of Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges and ACCJC Attorney, Mr. Robert Henry visited the National Campus from May 24-29, 2001. During their visit they conducted various workshops for the Board of Regents and the President's Cabinet on how to conduct a presidential search, basics of accreditation, Community College Leadership Development Institute (CCLDI), and the new accreditation standards. We extend our gratitude to Dr. Wolf and Mr. Henry.

Personnel.    Ms. Mary Bea Klava was hired as the Kosrae Campus Gear Up Instructor on May 29, 2001. Welcome!


More Next Time!
Navigate graphicTo COM-FSM Home Page