Day Date Area Topic
Tues 18 Jan Ethnobotany Introduction.
Thurs 20 Jan Ethnography Lower plants field hike: Cyanobacteria, bryophytes, SVPs, lycopodium, ferns. WET MUDDY.
Tues 25 Jan Botany Preparation
Thurs 27 Jan Botany Group presentations cyanobacteria, bryophytes, lycopodium, ferns.
Tues 01 Feb Guest lecture Tentative: Dr. Balick
Thurs 03 Feb Test One
Tues 08 Feb Ethnography Plants that heal lecture. Morinda citrifolia healing uses.
Thurs 10 Feb Ethnography Outdoor walk: Plant collecting process. Early warnings due.
Tues 15 Feb Ethnography Healing plant individual presentations
Thurs 17 Feb Ethnography Healing plant individual presentations
Tues 22 Feb Botany Field trip: Gymnosperms and plants with economic value. Botanic garden road trip and walk
Thurs 24 Feb Botany Preparation
Tues 01 Mar Botany Group presentations: gymnosperms
Thurs 03 Mar Midterm
Tues 08 Mar Ethnography Plants as food lecture. Middef due.
Thurs 10 Mar Ethnography Plants as food individual presentations
Tues 15 Mar Ethnography Plants as food individual presentations
Thurs 17 Mar Botany Field walk: Angiosperms: Vegetative morphology
Tues 22 Mar Botany URL Lab: Sources and world markets for plants of the garden. Class in A204.
Thurs 24 Mar Holiday Easter
Tues 29 Mar Botany Field walk: Angiosperms: Floral morphology (Rain swapped this with 05 April lecture)
Thurs 31 Mar Holiday Rahn en Tiahk
Tues 05 Apr Ethnography Plants as the basis for material culture lecture.
Thurs 07 Apr Ethnography Material culture individual presentations
Tues 12 Apr Ethnography Material culture individual presentations
Thurs 14 Apr Test Two
Tues 19 Apr Ethnography Return test two. Entering other worlds lecture: Five types of psychoactive substances.
Thurs 21 Apr Ethnography Memes and Areca catechu and Piper methysticum I: Chemistry and Uses
Tues 26 Apr Ethnography Piper methysticum II Legends
Thurs 28 Apr Ethnography Field Trip: Kava cultural ceremony
Tues 03 May Ethnography Family forest. Class in A204.
Thurs 05 May Ethnography Family forest follow-up: Interconnecting. A204.
Tues 10 May Holiday FSM Constitution
Thurs 12 May Ethnography [Entering other worlds optional individual presentations.] Take home final examination essay question
Mon 16 May THF Take home final examination due by 5:00 P.M.
Textbooks (unavailable):
Plants, people, and culture: The Science of Ethnobotany
A Photographic Atlas for the Botany Laboratory 4th edition.
Field trips, hikes, and outings: Rain or shine, on and off trail. Hikes over difficult, steep, muddy, and slippery terrain are conducted. Plants grow where they want to, not where it is convenient for us.
Office Hours: TBA. For now, by appointment, or walk-in.
Absences: Five absences will result in a withdrawal from the course and a grade of either W or F.
No betelnut chewing in class due to college regulations.
No food, drink, or gum in the science laboratories.
Do not write on the tables, open the taps, or otherwise touch the equipment in the laboratory unless so instructed.
Grading: Points are given for tests, midterm, final, attendance, and presentations. Tests and examinations include coverage of student learning outcomes on outline. Grades are calculated based on a percentage of total possible points.
Ethnobotanical individual presentations include an individual oral presentation, specimen, and a brief written report. There are three of these (healing, food, and material culture). The written ethnographic reports should be submitted electonically, preferably via email. Some students will have to work with the instructor to find suitable material.
Botanical presentations include only an oral group presentation.
Instructor: Dana Lee Ling. 320-2480 Extension 228. Home: 320-2962. and