P. O. Box 159
Kolonia, Pohnpei 96941
Federated States of Micronesia
Phone: (691) 320-2480 Fax: (691) 320-2479 E-Mail:

President's Message to the Community

January 14, 2016

COM-FSM Mission Statement:

The College of Micronesia-FSM is a learner-centered institution of higher education that is committed to the success of the Federated States of Micronesia by providing academic, career and technical education programs characterized by continuous improvement and best practices.

Dear Colleagues and Fellow Members of the COM-FSM Community,

We welcome back the students, staff, and faculty as we begin a new year together. During this new year, the college would like to recognize and also welcome our new students, staff and faculty who have now become part of our learning community.

The Governance Summit facilitated by VPIEQA was held on January 4-5, 2016. A total of 132 college staff and faculty from each of the state campuses including the Regents from Chuuk and Kosrae participated. The summit involved broader participation, dialogue and feedback about the college’s Participatory Governance Policy (BP No. 2200 and AP No. 2200), Shared Governance, Strengthening Purposeful Dialogue, Student Success, Committee Minutes, and the college’s Core Values.


The college staff and faculty have completed the “Self Evaluation of Educational Quality and Institutional Effectiveness in Support of Reaffirmation of Accreditation” on December 15, 2015. The “Self Evaluation” report dated December 15, 2015 is available to the public and is electronically located on the college’s website under the “Reports Archive” in the “Accreditation” section of the webpage.

All Campus Meeting:

January 27, 2016, there will be an All Campus Meeting held at MITC from 1-2PM.


I convey my appreciation to you for all your work, effort and dedication to the students we serve. Each of us plays an important role in the successful implementation of the mission of COM-FSM.

It is a privilege for me to serve you as president.

Warm regards,

Joseph M. Daisy, EdD

President and CEO