College of Micronesia – FSM Committee Minutes Reporting Form

Committee or Working Group:	Cabinet		
Date:	Time:	Location:	
March 25, 2022	9:30a – 11:00 am	Via ZOOM	

Members Present:						
Members:	Name:	Present:	Absent:	Remarks:		
President		x		VPIA as Interim President		
VPAS	Joseph Habuchmai	x				
VPEMSS	Joey Oducado	x				
VPIA	Karen Simion	x				
VPIEQA	Shaun Suliol	х		Acting		

Additional Attendees:

Hadleen Hadley (transcriber)

Agenda/Major Topics of Discussion:

- 1. Call to order: declaration of quorum
- 2. Reading of the Mission Statement

The College of Micronesia-FSM is a learner-centered institution of higher education that is committed to the success of the Federated States of Micronesia by providing academic and career & technical educational programs characterized by continuous improvement and best practices.

3. Review of agenda

- 4. Approval of Minutes
- 5. Old Business
 - a. none
- 6. New Business
 - a. VPAS
- i. HR Software Proposal presentation
- b. VPEMSS
 - i. Founding Day Celebration
- c. VPIEQA
- d. VPIA/Interim President
 - i. IC- Yap Campus
 - ii. Incentive Awards
- 7. Adjournment

Summary of Recommendations with Suggested Timeline & Responsibilities:

- Interim President called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. and VPIEQA read the mission statement.
- Cabinet adopted the agenda
- Cabinet approved the minutes of March 18, 2022 meeting via online voting
- Cabinet approved purchase of Interact HRMS Program for a two-year trial run after which HR will give a formal assessment and analysis of cost benefit, processes involved, risk identified, the challenges foreseen and how they will address those challenges
- Cabinet approved to have the Yap Campus instructional coordinator advertised and filled.
- The Incentive Awards recipients are as follows: Innovative Idea Award ------ Roselle Togonon Award of Recognition ------ Arinda Swingly Faculty of the Year Award--- Devanesam Senerathgoda Student's Choice Award ----- Dana Lee Ling Community Services Award—Delihna Ehmes Staff of the Year Award ------ Norma Edwin Professional Recognition Award - each vice president will make sure to submit names of employees deserving recognition. Under instruction affairs: Dennis Gearhart, Peltin Olter-Pelep, Pearl Olter-Pelep, Jean Pierre Lukusa, Paul Dacanay, Rudelynn Dacanay, Delihna Ehmes, Susan Moses, George Mangonon, Magdalena Hallers, Karen Tu, and Monica Rivera
 - The meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

Discussion of Agenda/Information Sharing:

Interim President called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. VPIEQA read the mission statement. Cabinet adopted the agenda.

Minutes of March 18, 2022 cabinet meeting were approved and adopted by Cabinet via online voting.

New Business

- a) VPAS
- i. **HR Software proposal (Interact HRMS Program)** Human Resources (HR) director summarized the advantages of using the proposed software. Advantages include will improve HR functions to be more efficient and effective, will reduce turnaround time for processing documents, will address accreditation compliance of HR policies regarding employee evaluations and contract processes; will give supervisors easy access to supervisee's personnel data on line. HR Director will be the manager of the program. Funding for the software will be sourced out of VPAS' budget.

VPIEQA moved and VPAS seconded with VPEMSS' modification that Cabinet approve a two year's trial run with the software and have HRO provide a formal assessment and analysis of cost benefit, process involved, risk identified, the challenges foreseen and how they will address those challenges. The motion carried.

b) VPEMSS

- i. **Founding Day Celebration update** COM-FSM founding day will be celebrated on April 1st at the campuses system-wide. Chuuk Campus' celebration is a culmination of a week-long fun filled activities. Yap Campus' and FMI will be a one day filled with fun games, raffle drawing of prizes and a campus clean-up drive at the end. National Campus and CTEC will start with a short parade from the gym up to the parking lot area where activities will be held. There will be cultural show cases and cultural presentations by the student organizations.
- c) VPIA/Interim President
 - i. Instructional Coordinator at Yap Campus- Cabinet noted that Yap Campus director has been shouldering responsibilities and duties of the position.

VPEMSS moved and **VPIEQA** seconded that Cabinet approve to advertise and fill the position. The motion carried.

ii. **Incentive Awards-** Cabinet reviewed the nominations for the incentive awards. The recipients are as follows:

Innovative Idea Award ------ Roselle Togonon Award of Recognition ------ Arinda Swingly Faculty of the Year Award--- Devanesam Senerathgoda Student's Choice Award ----- Dana Lee Ling Community Services Award—Delihna Ehmes Staff of the Year Award ------ Norma Edwin Professional Recognition Award - each vice president will make sure to submit names of employees deserving recognition. Under instruction affairs: Dennis Gearhart, Peltin Olter-Pelep, Pearl Olter-Pelep, Jean Pierre Lukusa, Paul Dacanay, Rudelynn Dacanay, Delihna Ehmes, Susan Moses, George Mangonon, Magdalena Hallers, Karen Tu, and Monica Rivera

7. Adjournment

Comments/Upcoming Meeting Date & Time/Etc.:

VPEMSS moved and VPAS seconded that the meeting be adjourned. Motion carried and the meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

Handouts/Documents Referenced:					
College Web Site Link:					
Prepared by:	Hadleen Hadley	Date Distributed:	4/04/22		

Approval of Minutes Process & Responses:

 Minutes were emailed out to Cabinet to review. Cabinet approved to adopt the minutes as presented via online vote.

Action by President:	Item numbers:	Date:	Comments/Conditions:
Approved:			
Approved with			
conditions:			
Disapproved:			